Uncork

Free and paid apps for Windows games on a Mac, compared

Updated 5 October 2026 (Uncork's price: a free core and Uncork Pro) · facts about other projects taken from their public pages on 3 October 2026

We make Uncork and have a stake in this comparison, so we start with where others are stronger than us. Facts about other projects come from their public pages on 3 October 2026 (CrossOver, as of 8 October 2026); we did not run their apps. What a project says about itself is marked “as described”: we could not check it ourselves. If something is out of date or wrong, write to hello@uncork.win and we will fix it.

Where others are stronger than Uncork

The table

Facts about other projects come from their public pages on 3 October 2026, the CrossOver row is as of 8 October 2026, the Uncork row is as of 8 October 2026. “As described” marks a claim by the project that we did not verify.

AppPrice and codeStoresNotarizationWhat is verified
Uncorkfree + Pro €19: the core is free, no account needed; Pro is €19 once, every 1.x update; 7-day Pro trial; closed source; Apple Silicon, macOS 14+Steam and Epic tested, five more stores marked “not tested”yes: Developer ID and Apple notarization (since 1.0.12)14 games tested by us; since 1.1 (8 October 2026) also community reports for ~380 games from the open highball-db snapshot (CC0); frame rates measured for two games, on one Mac
Highballfree, GPL-3.0; beta; macOS 14+, Apple SiliconSteam and Epic; Rockstar and EA app need the second engine; Ubisoft Connect and Battle.net only reach the sign-in window; GOG Galaxy does not workyes, as described19 games verified by hand, 232 by community consensus, 46 marked impossible
CrossOver (CodeWeavers)paid: CrossOver + $54 (12 months of support and updates), CrossOver Life $494 (support and updates for life), a free evaluation version for 14 days; CodeWeavers publishes the source code on its site; version 27.0 as of 8 October 2026; Intel and Apple Silicon Macsnot stated on the pagenot stated on the page22,708 applications in its compatibility database, per the project's page
Whisky fork (frankea)free, GPL-3.0; macOS 15+, Apple Siliconper the README Steam, Epic, EA App, Rockstar, Battle.netyes, as described80+ per-game configs, most of which the project itself rates unverified
Sikarugir (formerly Kegworks)free, part under LGPL-2.1; macOS 14.6+a wrapper builder for games, not a store librarythe project does not sayno compatibility database found
Porting Kitfree, pay what you want; Apple Silicon and Intel; not stated to be open sourceGOG, Steam, Ubisoft Connect, EA/Origin, Battle.net; no Epicthe project does not sayalmost 1,500 games, as the project describes it
GameHub for Macprice not stated; client closed; public betaSteam; Epic per press reportsthe project does not sayper a video relayed by MacStories, about 60% of 20 games were playable
Heroicfree, GPL-3.0; macOS 14+, Apple Silicon and IntelEpic, GOG, Amazon; no Steamthe project does not sayno compatibility database found
Bourbon 26from $29.99 once, 24-hour trial; Apple Silicon; app closed, recipes open (MIT)as described: Steam, Epic/GOG/Amazon through Heroic, Battle.net, EA, Ubisoftyes, as describedfixes for 528 Steam games, 236 concrete (repository, 4 August 2026)
Pixel Portfree; Apple Silicon; version 0.x, beta; the site does not say whether the code is openSteam onlyyes, as describedper the site, 74 of 11,048 entries verified on a real Mac
Grapplefree: one game forever, swappable every 30 days; Pro €29 a year (€3.49 a month), whole library, up to 3 Macs; whether the app's code is open, the site does not say; Apple Silicon, macOS 14+, Rosetta 2 needed; version 0.1.0 in its docs (as of 8 October 2026)Steam, Epic, GOG Galaxy (as described, GOG games not yet tested), your own gamesthe site does not say478 entries on its games page: 3 “works”, 320 “likely to work”, 72 “unknown”, 83 “won't run”

“The project does not say” and “not stated” mean one thing only: the pages we read have nothing on it, not that there is no notarization or no stores.

How Uncork differs

As Highball describes it, its default engine is a Sikarugir build, as in Uncork, and it also offers its own newer engine; the main difference is what is built on top. For Uncork that is input and what surrounds it; the table marks what is in the free core and what is in Uncork Pro:

WhatUncorkOther projects, per the pages we read
The mouse is read from the device itself, at up to 1000 Hzyes, in Uncork Pro; measurements on the mouse pagenot mentioned
Logitech wheel force feedbackin Uncork Pro (since 1.0.1): G923 (PlayStation and PC version) tested in Assetto Corsa, G29 supported in codenot claimed as a feature by the apps above; the separate utility Torqer, per its site, lists force feedback as verified for 12 wheel models (Logitech G29, G920 and the Xbox G923 among them; the PlayStation G923 is in beta there), costs $12 once and says it works alongside Heroic and Sikarugir; the open-source g29-mac (since 2 September 2026), per its README, gives a G29 force feedback under Whisky
Frame evening for single-player gamesyes, in Uncork Pro; measured in CS2: 87% even intervals against 18%not mentioned
macOS Game Mode for Windows gamesyes, freenot mentioned in the apps above; the separate utility Torqer, per its guide (updated 3 October 2026), has a Game Mode switch (off / auto / on) built on Apple's gamepolicyctl tool from Xcode
Gamepadfree: a mode that moves the pointer on the Mac while no game is runningHighball has a troubleshooting section on a controller that is not recognised or shows up twice, the Whisky fork has a controller compatibility mode, GameHub has a “gamepad bridge” (per its tracker), and in Heroic, per the repository's code, a gamepad can drive the launcher itself; we found no mode for driving the Mac with no game running

“Not mentioned” covers only the pages we read: READMEs, sites, docs and articles, not the code (the exception is the gamepad row for Heroic, which rests on the repository's code). Also, similar changes for the mouse have already been proposed in shared Mac code and on 3 October 2026 are not yet accepted, so the picture may change in time. What exactly we recorded about CS2 on a Mac, and under which conditions, is on the page How to play CS2 on a Mac: M3 Pro frame rates, mouse, VAC, FACEIT.

How to choose

Limits of this comparison

We did not run other people's apps and did not compare speed: our frame-rate measurements are from one Mac and only in Uncork. Prices and versions change, so the rows about other projects were checked on 3 October 2026 (CrossOver and the Uncork row are as of 8 October), and the database counters of Highball and Pixel Port change almost daily. Projects' claims about notarization, the number of verified games and stores are given as claims. Porting Kit figures come from the project's itch.io page and the store filter on portingkit.com; the game list on portingkit.com is loaded by a script, so we give the number of games as the project describes it. We left out very new projects with little to compare, for example Win Over (a free MVP with about 14 games (11 open to try) and no price yet, per its site). If you know better, write to us.

Read next

Download free

← Back to the main page